Safety Committee

Seattle Central's Safety Committee helps employees and management work together to identify hazards and recommend solutions, review incident reports, and evaluate the effectiveness of the College's safety plans. The committee is governed by its adopted by–laws (pdf) and by Washington Administrative Code 296–800–130.

The term of service is one academic year and current membership is listed below. If you have a workplace safety concern, an agenda item you would like the Committee to discuss, or you have questions about current College safety policy or procedures, please contact the current Committee Chair.

Employee-Elected Representatives:


  • Darrell Jamieson, Theatres Manager (Chair)

  • Diane Ellis, WSFE Representative (Note Taker)
  • Dr. Pat Russell, Health Education Center
  • Rob Watt, Wood Technology Center
  • Reade Simmons, Seattle Maritime Academy
  • Mikaila Harris, Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Community

Employer-Elected members:

  • Casey Lawrence, Associate Director of Facilities
  • Sean Chesterfield, Director of Safety and Security
  • Wesley Wofford, Manager of Environmental Health and Safety 
  • Michelle Valint, Manager of Occupational Safety and Health

Student Representative:

  • Nikki Lwin, ASC Issues

Safety Committee Minutes

June 2023

July 2023

2023-2024 minutes can be found here. If you would like to view minutes older than what is currently posted, please contact the chair.