Mathematics

Mathematics is the study of numbers, structure, space and change.

Earn a college transfer degree that includes Mathematics classes. Planning to Major in Mathematics? Download this handy guide (pdf).

Mathematics is a foundational subject used to study various STEM disciplines such as chemistry, physics, engineering, computer science, meteorology, astronomy, environmental sciences and biology. Courses in mathematics prepare you for advanced courses or application to work settings and may include individual laboratory, lecture, or lecture/lab combination.

Mathematics serves nearly every major

Seattle Central offers three main pathways that will meet you degree, program and transfer requirements. We also offer a self-paced and computer-based option (ALEKS) if you want to work at a faster (or slower) pace than found in a typical math course. To learn more about ALEKS placement exams, start here (ALEKS pdf).

Determine the best courses to take as a science or non-science major with this Seattle Central Math Course and Pathways info sheet (pdf) or read more below.

The STEM Pathway

This pathway is designed for majors in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.You will be required to meet the intermediate algebra prerequisite (MATH 098) before taking college level mathematics courses. We offer all three quarters of calculus, linear algebra, differential equations, and vector calculus.

The Statway Pathway

This pathway is designed for non-STEM students and offers a three-course “cohort experience,” resulting in credit for a college level introductory statistics course when completed successfully. Students typically take all three courses (MATH 091, MATH 092, MATH 136) together and with the same instructor. When you complete this sequence, you will meet the University of Washington's intermediate algebra transfer requirement.

The Quantitative Reasoning Pathway

This pathway is also designed for non-STEM students and prepares you for Business Precalculus (MATH 116), Introductory Statistics (MATH 146), and Math in Society (MATH 107). The prerequisite for this pathway is either MATH 088 or MATH 098. If you want to transfer to the University of Washington, talk to a college advisor before deciding if this set of courses is appropriate. Read sample syllabi, course outlines, and more at the Seattle Central Math department website.

Courses Offered

  • Basic Math Skills
  • Preparatory Mathematics (ALEKS Based, Includes MATH 081, MATH 087, MATH 096, MATH 098)
  • Foundations of Algebra
  • Algebra in Context
  • Descriptive Statistics with Algebra I & II (Statway)
  • Preparation for Intermediate Algebra
  • Intermediate Algebra
  • Math In Society
  • Applied Math for Technician
  • Computers in Mathematics
  • Inferential Statistics (Statway)
  • Precalculus, Computer Based
  • Precalculus I & II
  • Introduction to Statistics
  • Applications of Math to Management and Life Sciences
  • Business Calculus
  • Calculus I, II & 3
  • Linear Algebra
  • Vector Calculus
  • Differential Equations

To read course descriptions for the current and upcoming quarter as well as register, visit MyCentral.

Mathematics Careers

  • Actuary
  • Computer Systems Analyst
  • Cryptographer
  • Economist
  • Financial Analyst
  • Market Research Analyst
  • Mathematician
  • Statistician
  • Teacher/Professor

Mathematics Faculty

Tony Akhlaghi
Western Washington University, M.S. (Mathematics)
Tony.Akhlaghi@seattlecolleges.edu

Mimi Aregaye
Wichita State University, M.S.
Mimi.Aregaye@seattlecolleges.edu

Rose Bailey
University of Washington, B.S. (Pulp and Paper Technology)
University of Washington, M.S. (Pulp and Paper Technology)
Rose.Bailey@seattlecolleges.edu

Saras Bala
P.S.G. College of Arts and Science, India, M.S. (Statistics)
Saras.Bala@seattlecolleges.edu

JoAnne Bartlett
University of Washington, B.A. (Mathematics)
University of Washington, Fifth College Year Teacher Education Program
WA State Teaching Certificate: Continuing Elementary and Secondary
Joanne.Bartlett@seattlecolleges.edu

Laura Bodine
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Experimental Nuclear Physics)
Laura.Bodine@seattlecolleges.edu

Ricco Bonicalzi
University of Washington, Ph.D.
Ricco.Bonicalzi@seattlecolleges.edu

Andy Brasile
University of Illinois at Chicago, Ph.D. (Three-Dimensional Topology)
Andrew.Brasile@seattlecolleges.edu

Chris Denzler
Pacific Lutheran University, M.S. (Computer Science)
chris.denzler@seattlecolleges.edu

James Dressler
Texas A&M University, M.S. (Mathematics)
James.Dressler@seattlecolleges.edu

Damon Ellingston
Wesleyan University, M.A. (Mathematics)
University of Maryland, M.S. (Physics)
Damon.Ellingston@seattlecolleges.edu

Maryann Firpo
Western Washington University, M.S.
Maryann.Firpo@seattlecolleges.edu

Anna Jacobs
Loyola University Chicago, M.S.
Anna.Jacobs@seattlecolleges.edu

Bryan Johns
University of Washington, M.S.
Bryan.Johns@seattlecolleges.edu

Steve Kangas
University of Oregon, Ph.D. (Mathematics)
Steve.Kangas@seattlecolleges.edu

Andrea Levy
University of Washington, Ed.D.
Andrea.Levy@seattlecolleges.edu

Danielle Mallare-Dani
University of Buffalo, M.S.
Danielle.Mallaredani@seattlecolleges.edu

Lawrence Morales (Department Lead)
Brown University, M.S. (Mathematics)
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Learning Sciences and Educational Psychology)
Lawrence.Morales@seattlecolleges.edu

Jane Muhich
University of Washington, M.Ed.
Jane.Muhich@seattlecolleges.edu

Margaret Patterson
University of Massachusetts at Amherst, Ph.D. (Industrial Engineering and Operations Research)
Margaret.Patterson@seattlecolleges.edu

Tricia Perkins
University of Michigan, M.S.
Tricia.Perkins@seattlecolleges.edu

Joe Ricci
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Philosophy)
Joe.Ricci@seattlecolleges.edu

Gwen Sweeney
University of Washington, M.E. (Special Education)
University of Arizona, Tuscon, B.S. (Systems Engineering)
Gwen.Sweeney@seattlecolleges.edu

John Swisshelm
Cleveland State University, M.S.
John.Swisshelm@seattlecolleges.edu

Tesfaye Terefe
Seattle Pacific University, M.A. (Teaching)
Russian University of Peoples’ Friendship, M.S. (Mathematics & Physics)
Tesfaye.Terefe@seattlecolleges.edu

Felice Tiu
Colorado State University, M.S.
Oregon State University, M.S.
Felice.Tiu@seattlecolleges.edu

Patrick Torres
Patrick.Torres@seattlecolleges.edu

Paul Verschueren
University of New Hampshire, B.S. (Mathematics Education)
University of New Hampshire, B.S. (Outdoor Education)
University of Washington, M.A. (Instructional Leadership, Mathematics)
Paul.Verschueren@seattlecolleges.edu

Samuel Wenberg
Gonzaga University, B.S. (Mathematics)
Eastern Washington University, M.S. (Mathematics)
Samuel.Wenberg@seattlecolleges.edu

Jerry Wright
University of Washington, M.S.
Jerry.Wright@seattlecolleges.edu

Greg Langkamp Purdue
University, B.S. (Mathematics)
University of Washington, M.S. (Mathematics)
Greg.Langkamp@seattlecolleges.edu