Biology

Biology provides a foundation in the study of life and living organisms including their physical structure, chemical composition, function, development and evolution.

Earn a college transfer degree that includes Biology classes. Planning to Major in Biology? Download this handy guide (pdf).

Our mission is to provide you with the latest knowledge in the field of biology, as well as hands-on experience in our life sciences laboratory. We develop our individual courses to prepare you for an A.A./A.S. degree, college or university transfer degree and careers in Allied Health (for example nursing dental hygiene), biotechnology and conservation. We even have classes for non-science majors. Biology provides a foundation for work in medicine, laboratory science, or research. If you are are planning to apply to medical school, dental school, pharmacy school, or veterinary school, a biology major is very helpful, although not required.

Courses Offered

  • Survey of Biology
  • Nutrition
  • Intro to Comparative Animal Behavior
  • Marine Biology
  • Survey of Human Anatomy & Physiology
  • General Biology
  • Human Genetics
  • Majors Cellular, Animal & Plant
  • Human Anatomy & Physiology I & II
  • Microbiology
  • Immunology

To read course descriptions for the current and upcoming quarter as well as register, visit MyCentral.

Biology Careers

  • Conservation biologist
  • Dentist
  • Doctor
  • Epidemiologist
  • Forest ranger
  • Genetic Counselor
  • Research Scientist
  • Medical Illustrator
  • Occupational Therapist
  • Veterinarian
  • Zookeeper

Biology Faculty

Mark Ainsworth
University of California Davis, Ph.D. (Plant Biology)
Mark.Ainsworth@seattlecolleges.edu

David Baisch
Grand Valley State University, M.S. (Population Genetics)
David.Baisch@seattlecolleges.edu

Katie Baker
Bastyr University, Doctorate of Naturopathic Medicine
Katie.Baker@seattlecolleges.edu

Daniel Gong
University of Washington, M.S. (Biological Structure)
Daniel.Gong@seattlecolleges.edu

Marina Halverson
University of Hawaii, M.S. (Biological Oceanography)
Marina.Halverson@seattlecolleges.edu

Matt Legters
Bastyr University, M.S.
Matt.Legters@seattlecolleges.edu

Jessica McAbee
University of California Davis, Ph.D. (Plant Biology)
Jessica.McAbee@seattlecolleges.edu

Jay McLean-Riggs
Yale University, M.D., M.P.H.
Heather.McLean-Riggs@seattlecolleges.edu

John Moffat
University of Washington, M.S.
John.Moffat@seattlecolleges.edu

Samantha Morefield
University of North Texas, M.S. (Neurophysiology)
Samantha.Morefield@seattlecolleges.edu

Marla Robinson
University of Washington, M.S. (Molecular Ecology)
Marla.Robinson@seattlecolleges.edu

Ian Schwab
Kenyon College, B.A. (Biology)
The Ohio State University, M.S. (MSaT Education)
Ian.Schwab@seattlecolleges.edu

Grace Sparks
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Ecosystems Analysis)
Grace.Sparks@seattlecolleges.edu

Joshua Whorley
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Zoology)
Joshua.Whorley@seattlecolleges.edu

John Wiseley
University of California Davis, M.S. (Plant Biology)
John.Wiseley@seattlecolleges.edu

Lauren Yasuda (Department Lead)
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Genetics)
Lauren.Yasuda@seattlecolleges.edu

Brooke Yool
University of California Irvine, B.S. (Biological Science)
University of California San Francisco, M.S. (Pharmaceutical Chemistry)
Brooke.Yool@seattlecolleges.edu