Chemistry

Chemistry is the science dealing with elements and compounds and how they work together. It’s the study of the materials that compose everything in the world around us, including our physical bodies.

Earn a college transfer degree that includes Chemistry classes. Planning to Major in Chemistry? Download this handy guide (pdf).

Chemistry is a required prerequisite for many health careers including nursing, dentistry, pharmacy, physical therapy, dental hygiene, alternative medicine, instrument technology and medicine. You can pursue an associate degree in Chemistry with us, (A.A., A.S.), and transfer your degree if you are planning to earn a bachelor's, graduate or professional degree. Some chemistry majors work in biotechnology, chemical, or pharmaceutical industries or teach high school science, become science writers, or work for government and environmental organizations.

We teach chemistry for both science and non-science students, guide career decisions, develop critical-thinking skills, motivate students to positively affect their local and global environment and stimulate lifelong collaborative learning. View chemistry program map.

Courses Offered

  • Preparatory General Chemistry
  • Chemical Concepts
  • Introductions to Chemistry, Organic Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • General Chemistry I, II & III
  • Organic Chemistry with lab I, II & III

To read course descriptions for the current and upcoming quarter as well as register, visit MyCentral.

Chemistry Careers

  • Biotechnician
  • Science Writer
  • Teacher
  • Analytical Chemist
  • Chemical Engineer
  • Healthcare Scientist
  • Clinical Biochemist
  • Forensic Scientist
  • Materials Scientist
  • Patent Lawyer
  • Nanotechnologist
  • Pharmacologist
  • Research Scientist
  • Toxicologist

Chemistry Faculty

Andrew Bierbaum
University of Minnesota Twin Cities, Ph.D. (Inorganic Chemistry)
Andrew.Bierbaum@seattlecolleges.edu

Heather Clary
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Organic Chemistry)
University of Washington, M.S. (Organic Chemistry)
Heather.Clary@seattlecolleges.edu

Erin Gibbons
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Physical Chemistry)
Erin.Gibbons@seattlecolleges.edu

Yoshihiro Kobayashi
Colorado State University, Ph.D. (Chemistry)
Yoshihiro.Kobayashi@seattlecolleges.edu

Suzanne Kulevich
University of Wisconsin Madison, M.S., Ph.D. (Analytical Chemistry)
Suzanne.Kulevich@seattlecolleges.edu

Philip Mayer
University of California Riverside, Ph.D.
Philip.Mayer@seattlecolleges.edu

Esmaeel Naeemi
New Mexico State University, Ph.D. (Organic Chemistry)
Esmaeel.Naeemi@seattlecolleges.edu

Alaina Nye
Washington State University, Ph.D. (Organic Chemistry)
Alaina.Nye@seattlecolleges.edu

Tom Schultz
University of Nevada, Ph.D. (Synthetic Organic Chemistry)
Tom.Schultz@seattlecolleges.edu

Marie Villarba
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Physical Chemistry, Surface Science)
Marie.Villarba@seattlecolleges.edu

Doug Wick (Department Lead)
University of Rochester, Ph. D. (Organometallic Chemistry)
Doug.Wick@seattlecolleges.edu