Physics

Physics studies phenomena in the physical world, such as forces and motion, electricity and magnetism, oscillations and waves, using conceptual and mathematical models.

At Seattle Central College, all physics courses emphasize problem solving techniques. Physics coursework is important for general education, but also required for careers in medicine, science, engineering and more. We offer physics at three levels: physics for non-majors, algebra-based physics and calculus-based physics.

Courses Offered

  • Physics for Non-Science Majors
  • General Physics I, II & III
  • Physics Workshop
  • Engineering Physics I, II & III

To read course descriptions for the current and upcoming quarter as well as register, visit MyCentral.

Physics Careers

  • Accelerator Operator
  • Applications Engineer
  • Data Analyst
  • Design Engineer
  • Instructor
  • IT Consultant
  • Lab Technician
  • Laser Engineer

Physics Faculty

Vincent Bell
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, M.S. (Engineering Physics)
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Mechanical Engineering)
Vincent.Bell@seattlecolleges.edu

Ricco Bonicalzi
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Physics)
Ricco.Bonicalzi@seattlecolleges.edu

Damon Ellingston
Wesleyan University, M.A. (Mathematics)
University of Maryland, M.S. (Physics)
Damon.Ellingston@seattlecolleges.edu

Arlene Ford
Texas A&M University, Ph.D. (Physics)
Arlene.Ford@seattlecolleges.edu

Rainer Heller (Co-Department Lead)
Christian-Albrechts-Universitaet, Germany, Diplom (Master’s Degree) (Physics)
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Geophysics)
Rainer.Heller@seattlecolleges.edu

Francois Lepeintre (Co-Department Lead)
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Physics)
Francois.Lepeintre@seattlecolleges.edu

Johnny Ursin
Western Washington University, M.S. (Mathematics)
University of Washington, M.S. (Physics)
Jonathan.Ursin@seattlecolleges.edu

Elisabetta Valenti
University of Washington, M.S. (Aeronautics and Astronautics)
Elisabetta.Valenti@seattlecolleges.edu

Clarke Wellman
Dartmouth College, B.A. (Physics)
University of Southern California, M.S. (System Engineering--quantum electronics/solid state physics)
Clarke.Wellman@seattlecolleges.edu

Isaac Ziskin
Arizona State University, M.S. (Aerospace Engineering)
Isaac.Ziskin@seattlecolleges.edu