Nutrition

Nutrition is a science that interprets the interaction of nutrients and other substances in food in relation to the maintenance, growth, reproduction, health and disease of an organism across its lifespan. If you’re planning to study nutrition, dietetics, or food science at a four-year university or college, begin at Seattle Central.

Earn a college transfer degree that includes Nutrition classes. Planning to Major in Nutrition? Download this handy guide (pdf).

Nutrition 101 is an introduction to human nutrition with an emphasis on the relationship of nutrition to growth, development, health, physical and mental functioning. Examine the sources, functions, interrelationships and human requirements of the nutrients, protein, carbohydrate, fat, minerals and vitamins as well as energy needs throughout the life cycle. Current issues having to do with weight management, fad diets, food safety, additives, behavioral effects of foods, advertising, etc., will be included. Practical considerations are given to planning, purchasing, storing and preparing food to foster safety, nutrient retention, economy and time management. Seattle Central also offers self-paced Nutrition 101 conducted online via Canvas.

Courses Offered

  • Nutrition 101

To read course descriptions for the current and upcoming quarter as well as register, visit MyCentral.

Nutrition Careers

  • Dietician
  • Food Scientist
  • Exercise Scientist
  • Consultant

Nutrition Faculty

Katie Baker
Bastyr University, Doctorate of Naturopathic Medicine
Katie.Baker@seattlecolleges.edu

Kira Baum
Bastyr University, ND, LAc (Acupuncture, Naturopathic Medicine)
Kira.Baum@seattlecolleges.edu

Jessica McAbee
University of California Davis, Ph.D. (Plant Biology)
Jessica.McAbee@seattlecolleges.edu

Deborah Ocken
Kansas State University, M.S. (Nutrition)
Deborah.Ocken@seattlecolleges.edu

Kathleen Putnam
Bastyr University (Nutrition Science)
Kathleen.Putnam@seattlecolleges.edu

Marla Robinson
University of Washington, M.S. (Molecular Ecology)
Marla.Robinson@seattlecolleges.edu

Brooke Yool
University of California Irvine, B.S. (Biological Science)
University of California San Francisco, M.S. (Pharmaceutical Chemistry)
Brooke.Yool@seattlecolleges.edu