Computer Science

Computer Science is the study of theory, experimentation and engineering that form the basis for the design and use of computers.

Earn a college transfer degree that includes Computer Science classes. Planning to Major in Computer Science? Download this handy guide (pdf).

Interested in a Web Development career? Learn more about Information Technology Career Training at Seattle Central. If you plan to study Engineering, learn more.

If you are interested in software programming, developing new software applications, or using computer technology to solve problems in other fields, you should consider studying computer science. Course subjects include programming languages such as Python and Java, while closely related majors include computer engineering and applied computing. Computer engineering focuses on hardware development, and applied computing is designed to help students apply computer technology to other practical or academic fields, including transferring to a four-year university or college.

Courses Offered

  • Computers for Math & Science
  • Computer Programming Intro, I & II
  • Computer Science Careers
  • Computer Programmer
  • Software Engineer
  • Software Developer
  • Systems Administrator
  • Network Administrator
  • Web Designer
  • Web Developer

To read course descriptions for the current and upcoming quarter as well as register, visit MyCentral.

Computer Science Careers

  • Computer Programmer
  • Software Engineer
  • Software Developer
  • Systems Administrator
  • Network Administrator
  • Web Designer
  • Web Developer

Computer Science Faculty

Laura Bodine
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Experimental Nuclear Physics)
Laura.Bodine@seattlecolleges.edu

Chris Denzler
Pacific Lutheran University, M.S. (Computer Science)
Chris.Denzler@seattlecolleges.edu

Damon Ellingston
Wesleyan University, M.A. (Mathematics)
University of Maryland, M.S. (Physics)
Damon.Ellingston@seattlecolleges.edu

Arlene Ford
Texas A&M University, Ph.D. (Physics)
Arlene.Ford@seattlecolleges.edu

Francois Lepeintre (Co-Department Lead)
University of Washington, Ph.D. (Physics)
Francois.Lepeintre@seattlecolleges.edu

Andy McCone
University of California at Davis, B.S. (Design)
Andy.McCone@seattlecolleges.edu

Clarke Wellman
Dartmouth College, B.A. (Physics)
University of Southern California, M.S. (System Engineering--quantum electronics/solid state physics)
Clarke.Wellman@seattlecolleges.edu

Brenden West
University of Washington, M.A. (International Studies)
Brenden.West@Seattlecolleges.edu Principal Software Engineer, CBRE Inc.